CTBTO YOUTH GROUP STATEMENT:

100 CYG Members Endorse the Declaration of the 8th World Science Forum on "Science for Peace" adopted on 10 November 2017, Dead Sea, Jordan

Themed around the banner of "science for peace", the World Science Forum 2017 (WSF 2017) was held at the Dead Sea in the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan from November 7-10, 2017. During WSF 2017, the Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO) highlighted the ways in which its International Monitoring System (IMS) acts as a catalyst for sustained peace and development. The IMS showcases the importance of the CTBT's ratification by all countries, as the CTBTO provides critical information not limited to potential nuclear detonations but also regarding earthquakes and tsunami warnings.

About the authors:

CTBTO Youth Group (CYG) members actively engage in promoting the CTBT and its verifcation regime. By helping raise awareness of the importance of the treaty, the CYG aims to revitalize the discussion around the CTBT among decision-makers, academia, students, expert society and media.The views expressed in this statement are made in the personal capacity of the authors and not on behalf of the CTBTO or of the CYG as a whole. The CTBTO Youth Group is open to all students and young graduates who are interested in contributing to global peace and security. Join us! Learn More:

www.youthgroup.ctbto.org #Youth4CTBT

According to WSF 2017 Chairwoman HRH Princess Sumaya bint El Hassan, "Every single person on this planet has a right to live in a safe world, and the CTBTO is an organization that is the leader in protecting public health and safety for civilians".



CTBTO Youth Group (CYG) members accompanied CTBTO Executive Secretary Dr. Lassina Zerbo to the WSF 2017 in an effort to showcase the relevance of the IMS to the theme of "science for peace" and help expand the definition of "insecurity" to be more inclusive of the food, water, and energy insecurity spawned by climate change. These issues, which accelerate forced migration and economic hardship that place many precarious populations into further poverty or conflict-prone situations, do discriminate as they hit the poor first and worst. The interconnectedness of these issues should be kept in mind by all generations when imagining innovative solutions such as the CTBTO IMS in an effort to build sustained peace and development for all.

We, the undersigned, fully endorse the Declaration of World Science Forum 2017 and urge our supporters to read it. The document offers a holistic yet concise framework for how scientific and policy communities can better the world together. While the full version is available here, the main headings are provided:

- 1. The equitable and sustainable management of natural resources is essential to avoid conflicts and to promote peaceful development.
- 2. The preservation of scientific capacities, threatened by global migration trends, is key to peace, sustainable development, resilience and recovery.
- 3. Diversity is a key enabler of excellence in science, technology and innovation and is essential to optimise its relevance and impact.
- 4. We commit to the fulfilment of the universal right to science.

Signatures

- 1 Sahil Shah 2. Marius Jano 3. Zachary Berenson-Barros 4. Yasemin Korkusuz Ozturk 5. Rana Hameed Al-Abboodi 6. Metin Dokumaci 7. Manuel García 8. Carlos Rodriguez-Cruz y Celis 9. Sitara Noor 10. Ahmed Amponsah Fordjour 11. Natalia Zhurina 12. Kinuthia Mwangi 13. Gonzalo Benito Díaz 14. Jaona Andriamampandry 15. Muhammad Minhaj Khan 16. Khurram Abaid Shah 17. Martina Maiello 18. Aditi Malhotra 19. Joel Okundi Obengo 20. Jakob Domenig 21. Andhika Yudha Prawira 22. Syed Muhammad Ayub Shah 23. Simon Herteleer 24. Thu Zar Win 25. Montserrat Diez Lopez 26. Hamzah Rifaat 27. Sweta Basak 28. Gaurav Jha 29. Tahir Nazir 30. Sabina Begic 31. Zeeshan Oadir Memon 32. Nathalie Osztaskina 33. Antonia Reininger 34. Samuel Luyckx
- 36. Joseph Leonard Rodgers 37. Deepshikha Kumari 38 Sufian Ullah 39. Zoe Levornik 40. Khedidja Benkattas 41. Setou Ouattara 42. Nishant Saini 43. Endi Mato 44. Brenna Gautam 45. Saurabh Sharma 46. Baruchi Malewich 47. Galina Salnikova 48. Autumn Bordner 49. Sylvia Mishra 50. Rizwan Asghar 51. Heng "Amber" Qin 52. Nelson Zhao 53. Joelle El Sawalhi 54. Alexandra Cojocaru 55. Marianna Arghamanyan 56. Andrew King 57. Shizuka Kuramitsu 58. Sarah Bidgood 59. Lena Sykorova 60. Chandra Prakash 61. Beenish Pervaiz 62. Jason Cohn 63. Cyrus Ordoobadi 64. Mohamed Yunisi 65. Morgan Slessor 66. Kyle Pilutti 67. Andrei Svistunov 68. Anastasia Kosivets 69. Alexandra Kapkova 70. Varvara Yarovaya 71. Kirill Burmistrov 72. Igor Skvortsov
- 73. Anna Umerenko
- 74. Veronika Zadremailova
- 75. Anastasia Pechenkina
- 76. Anastasia Shavrova
- 77. Ziheng Kevin Bai
- 78. Muhammad Qasim
- 79. Larisa Tcydypova
- 80. Ecem Dokumaci
- 81. Gurbuz Sonmez
- 82. Akın Sarıyaz
- 83. Gokhan Karagol
- 84. Neslihan Ayla
- 85. Paola García Peña
- 86. Aaron Joshua Pinto
- 87. Rofida Hamad
- 88. Nir Hassid
- 89. Daria Shumilova
- 90. Magdalene Wanyaga
- 91. Mary Karanja
- 92. Shunji Fueki
- 93. Gohar Altaf
- 94. Peter Reiss
- 95. Andrei Cursaru
- 96. Yash Chevli
- 97. Ahsan Yousaf Chaudhary
- 98. Daya Shanker
- 99. Ferdinand St. Hilaire
- 100. Tin Tin Nyo

35. Thon Mao