Solomon Islands ratifies CTBT, edging closer to universalisation in Pacific region

The Solomon Islands has ratified the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT), bringing the Pacific region another step closer to universal adoption of the CTBT.

The country signed the Treaty a month after it opened for signature in October 1996 and is party to the Treaty of Rarotonga, borne of the South Pacific's first-hand experience with nuclear weapons testing. The Treaty established the second nuclear-weapon-free zone in a populated area.

The ratification was marked on 20 January 2023 with a ceremony at United Nations Headquarters in New York, attended by Ambassador Jane Mugafalu Kabui Waetara, the Permanent Representative of Solomon Islands to the United Nations, and David Nanopoulos, Chief of the Treaty Section of the UN Office of Legal Affairs.

I welcome Solomon Islands to the family of CTBT ratifiers. This is a powerful message and a strong political statement from the Solomon Islands whose history underlines the importance of banning nuclear testing for good. I commend the Solomon Islands for its leadership in helping shape a safer world.

Solomon Islands becomes the 177th State to ratify the CTBT, furthering the goal of a universal verifiable end to nuclear testing.

“I look forward to building on this strong relationship and increased collaboration with the Solomon Islands on training and knowledge sharing activities,” added Floyd.

The CTBTO head made an official visit to the country in November 2022.

Strengthening international law in the name of peace is a duty.

The visit included engagements with other officials, some of whom played a key role in the country’s ratification process, including: the Minister of Police, National Security and Correctional Services, Antony Veke; the Minister of Environment, Climate Change, Disaster Management, and Meteorology, Stanley Sofu; and the Speaker of Parliament, Patteson Oti.

Floyd also met with CTBTO technical partners from the Seismological Observatory Section of the Ministry of Energy, Mines and Rural Electrification, which hosts CTBTO’s International Monitoring System (IMS) auxiliary seismic station 98 (AS98) and is the designated National Data Centre (NDC) of the country. An NDC is the national technical institution tasked with advising the government on the verification of the CTBT.

"CTBT's entry-into-force is a long-overdue task, more than a quarter century in the making, and one which we owe to all the people who were affected by past nuclear tests and their legacies, and to the future generations who have the right to live in a world free of the threat of nuclear war, or the intentional use or accidental explosion of nuclear weapons,” said Izumi Nakamitsu, UN Under-Secretary-General and High Representative for Disarmament Affairs.


Permanent Representative of the Solomon Islands, H.E. Jane Mugafalu Kabui Waetara, deposits the Instrument of Ratification of the CTBT at the UN Office of Legal Affairs. The ceremony was conducted by Mr. David Nanopoulos, Chief of the OLA Treaty Section.