2019 Conference on Facilitating the Entry into Force of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty United Nations, New York

Date and Time

Wednesday, 25 September 2019

Article XIV Session 10:00 - 18:00 (EST/GMT -4)

Conference Stream Part 1


Conference Stream Part 2


Image Gallery



State Speaker

Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization


HE Dr. Lassina Zerbo
Executive Secretary




HE Mr. Miro Cerar
Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs

North Macedonia


HE Mr. Nikola Dimitrov
Minister of Foreign Affairs


English docx
French PDF docx

Mr Dan Costello
Assistant Deputy Minister for International Security and Political Affairs, Global Affairs Canada
Bulgaria HE Ms. Ekaterina Zaharieva
Deputy Prime Minister for Judicial Reform and Minister of Foreign Affairs
Austria HE Mr. Andreas Riecken
Vice Minister for Multilateral Affairs and the European Union at the Austrian Federal Ministry for Europe, Integration and Foreign Affairs
Slovakia HE Mr. Miroslav Lajčák
Minister of Foreign and European Affairs

European Union

HE Ms Federica Mogherini
High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, Vice-President of the Commission
Norway HE Mr Jens Frølich Holte
State Secretary of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs


English docx
Chinese docx

HE Mr. Fu Cong
Director-General of the Department of Arm Control of Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Belgium Mr. Bruno Van der Pluijm
Secretary General a.i. of the Federal Public Service Foreign Affairs, Foreign Trade and Development Cooperation
Pacific Island forum TBA
Kingdom of Morocco Mr. Redouane Houssaini
Director General of the United Nations and International Organizations of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation
Italy HE Ms. Emanuela Del Re
Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs

Russian Federation

English docx
Russian docx

HE Mr. Sergey Lavrov
Minister of Foreign Affairs
Malaysia HE Muhammad Shahrul Ikram Yaakob
Secretary-General Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Japan HE Mr Toshimitsu Motegi
Minister for Foreign Affairs
The Philippines HE Mr. Enrique A. Manalo
Undersecretary for Policy, Department of Foreign Affairs
Kazakhstan HE Mr. Mukhtar Tileuberdi
Minister of Foreign Affairs
Co-Presidency of the Conference
HE Heiko Maas
Minister of Foreign Affairs
Kyrgyzstan HE Mr. Chingiz Aidarbekov
Minister of Foreign Affairs
The Netherlands HE Mr. Stef Blok
Minister for Foreign Affairs


Conference Material

  1. Draft Rules of Procedure
    ( PDF ) Arabic | Chinese | French   Russian | Spanish
  2. Draft Final Declaration and Measures to Promote the Entry into Force of the CTBT
    ( PDF ) Arabic Chinese French   Russian | Spanis
  3. Information for participants
    ( PDF )

    Note by the Secretariat: Corrigendum 1
    ( PDF )
  4. Draft Provisional Agenda
    ( PDF ) Arabic Chinese French   Russian | Spanish
  5. Progress Report on the Co-Presidency by Belgium and Iraq from September 2017 to September 2019
    ( PDF )
  6. Background Document
    ( PDF ) Arabic Chinese | French   Russian | Spanish
  7. Information for non-governmental organizations
    ( PDF )
  8. Activities undertaken by Signatory and Ratifying States under Measure (K) of the Final Declaration of the 2017 Conference on Facilitating the Entry into Force of the Treaty in the Period June 2017 - May 2019
    ( PDF )
  9. Invitation letters by the Secretary General to all States to attend the Eleventh Article XIV Conference 25 September 2019, New York
    ( PDF )
  10. Procedural and Organizational Matters
    ( PDF )
  11. List of Non-Governmental Organizations
    ( PDF )
  12. Report of the Conference
    ( PDF ) Arabic | Chinese | French | Russian | Spanish
    Corrigendum 1 ( PDF )
    Corrigendum 2 ( PDF )


The Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT) contains a special mechanism to promote its entry into force – a conference designed to facilitate this objective takes place every other year. While its official designation is the Conference on Facilitating Entry into Force of the CTBT, it is more commonly known as the “Article XIV conference” in accordance with the relevant Treaty article. The eleventh Article XIV conference will take place on 25 September 2019 at the United Nations headquarters in New York, USA.