Georgia and Samoa ratify the Treaty

Georgia and Samoa have deposited their instruments of ratification of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT) with the Secretary-General of the United Nations on 27 September 2002, bringing the total number of ratifications to 96. The CTBT bans any nuclear weapon test explosion or any other nuclear explosion in any environment. Samoa’s ratification brings the total number of ratifications in the South-East Asia, Pacific and Far East geographical region to 14. Under the terms of the Treaty, Samoa will host an auxiliary seismic station, AF1, at Afiamalu. This station forms part of the global network of 337 IMS monitoring facilities being established under the terms of the CTBT to verify Treaty compliance. Georgia belongs to the Eastern Europe geographical region. Eastern Europe is the only region out of the six geographical regions described in the Treaty to have already fulfilled its ratification obligations for the Treaty’s entry into force. Under the Treaty, States Signatories undertake to promote cooperation among themselves to facilitate and participate in the fullest possible exchange relating to technologies used in its verification. This cooperation enables States Signatories to strengthen national implementation of verification measures and to benefit from the application of such technologies for civil and scientific purposes. The verification regime stipulated in the Treaty provides a comprehensive set of information about the Earth and its seas and atmosphere, using state-of-the-art seismology, hydroacoustic, infrasound and radionuclide technologies. Drafted at the Conference on Disarmament in Geneva, and adopted by the United Nations General Assembly on 10 September 1996, the Treaty was opened for signature on 24 September 1996 at United Nations Headquarters in New York. For the CTBT to enter into force, a further 13 of the 44 nuclear-capable States listed in the Treaty must ratify it. ******************* The 96 States that have deposited their instruments of ratification of the CTBT are: Argentina, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belgium, Benin, Bolivia, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, El Salvador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Grenada, Guyana, Holy See, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Latvia, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Lesotho, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Mexico, Micronesia (Federated States of), Monaco, Mongolia, Morocco, Namibia, Nauru, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Romania, Russian Federation, Saint Lucia, Samoa, San Marino, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Uruguay, Uzbekistan and Venezuela.

For further information on the CTBTO, please see or contact:
Annika Thunborg, Chief, Public Information  
T    +43 1 26030-6375  
E    [email protected]
M    +43 699 1459 6375